Logo Shuttles&Co

Research for the mobility system of tomorrow

Self-driving Tesla

Project description

January 2020 – December 2021
The State of Berlin and its partners encompassing administration, research and industry are testing concepts and technologies designed to shape the mobility system of tomorrow. Within 24 months, participating partners will jointly develop and test technologies for highly automated and connected driving in the digital test field. The project is funded with €9.8 million by the Federal Ministry of Transportation and Digital Infrastructure within the framework of the funding guideline “A future-proof, sustainable system through automated driving and networking”.

The main goals of the project

  • Operation of a fleet of highly automated electric minibuses as an important addition to the Berlin mobility system
  • Improvement of perception and prediction, self-localization as highly reliable and highly available basic functions of autonomous driving, including cooperative processes and the cooperative creation and exchange of a Local Dynamic Map (LDM)
  • Testing of automated and connected driving in cooperative infrastructure (V2X) and V2X-based traffic control
  • Updating and delivery of digital maps and other necessary data and services via suitable exchange platforms
  • Studies on citizens‘ and users‘ acceptance and social participation that lead to implementation strategies

Project Partners

For the State of Berlin, the project involves the Senate Department for Environment, Traffic and Climate Protection (SenUVK) and the District of Berlin-Reinickendorf. For the State of Berlin, the project involves the Senate Department for Environment, Traffic and Climate Protection (SenUVK) and the District of Berlin-Reinickendorf. Partners in the project are the Berliner Verkehrsbetriebe, Berlin Partner/eMO, the Free University of Berlin, the TU Berlin with its associated institutes DCAITI and ZTG and the research institutes Fraunhofer FOKUS and the German Aerospace Center, the companies IAV and Hella Aglaia Mobile Vision, as well as the associated partner Deutsche Telekom. Scope – Strop Consulting is supporting the project management.

Partners

Associated Partner

Project Management

Supported by

Vehicles

Shuttles&Co uses modern fleet and research vehicles, with autonomous vehicles still driving with an operator on board:

  • Shuttle EZ10 der Fa. EasyMile, Generation 3
  • Fully automated research vehicles with a „license“ for autonomous driving, with on-board LIDAR and 3D-Vision systems
  • Test vehicles with commercially available assistance systems and ready-for-series-production camera technology
  • Fleet of carriers for smartphones with corresponding AI-applications
Autonomous vehicles for public transportation on the streets of Berlin
Autonomous vehicles for public transportation on the streets of Berlin © BVG

Concrete Tasks and Solutions

From the beginning of 2020 to the end of 2021, involved partners will jointly develop and test technologies for highly automated and connected driving in the digital test bed “urban traffic”.

Passenger Service

In the district of Berlin-Reinickendorf, a fleet of highly automated mini-buses will be used in the passenger service of the Berliner Verkehrsbetriebe (BVG) from the end of 2020 until end of 2021. Several streets will significantly extend the route from Tegel underground station to the Tegel Lake Terraces, which was already tested in the previous project See-Meile. The buses will have to overcome challenges such as cobblestones and narrow streets. For the first time, the minibuses will be advertised in BVG’s Fahrinfo app and on displays at some stops. On the basis of the operational data, a mobility service that is technically safe, accepted by customers, but also economical and generally applicable is to be derived.

Perception and Prediction

The high-precision map of the state of Berlin created in previous projects is being used as a reference map in the project and is to be expanded with dynamic georeferenced information for a so-called Local Dynamic Map (LDM). The LDM also maps the dynamic traffic situation and the actual state of the environment, including status messages as well as information on road works or hazardous situations. The linking of all information allows the highly accurate perception of the surroundings (localization, free space and object recognition) and enables intelligent behavior prediction. In this way, complex, dynamic and often unstructured traffic conditions can become controllable for the vehicles even beyond the range of their own sensors or mapped surroundings.

Digital Maps

The objects recognized during the perception of the surroundings can be used for regular updates by comparing them with the map data of the Land of Berlin. In the process, existing digital maps of the Land of Berlin are to be exchanged, updated and improved with those of car manufacturers or map service providers via suitable platforms. In addition, it will be investigated which fleets are suitable for a self-update implementation as a continuous process, how well digital processes can be automated taking into account the administrative structure, and how an efficient, decentralized map exchange and update process can be implemented via V2X, e.g. if the vehicle’s internet connection fails.

Traffic control with V2X Infrastructure

Automated and networked vehicles can communicate with other vehicles and the infrastructure (so-called V2X communication). Using this data, on the one hand, the vehicles can recognize the switching states of the traffic lights and react to them. In addition, dynamic traffic information, e.g. warnings of current road works or second-row parking, can also be derived and used from the evaluation of V2X information from the vehicles. In Shuttles&Co, new approaches of traffic adaptive control with prioritization of emergency vehicles or public transport vehicles via V2X messages are also to be demonstrated and a more demand-oriented traffic light control based on V2X messages is to be tested.

Acceptance and Trust

When testing the highly automated minibuses, various user groups and their specific expectations of the technology are considered. In addition to questions of usability, the acceptance of users, residents and other interest groups regarding the offer of highly automated minibuses will be analyzed. Furthermore, the state of Berlin wants to live up to the claim of high-quality citizen participation and is using the dialogue with citizens for this purpose, among other things in the form of a citizens’ conference, which is to develop recommendations for action for this central political-technical issue of the future. The public is involved through information and exchange forums. Given the background of the use of corresponding fleets in other deployment scenarios, accompanying project workshops are dedicated to the question of optimizing the mobility system in the state of Berlin and its sensible scaling in other areas.

Logo Shuttles&Co

Forschung für das Mobilitätssystem von Morgen

Selbstfahrender Tesla

Projektbeschreibung​

Januar 2020 – Juni 2022
Das Land Berlin will die Entwicklung der Digitalisierung, Vernetzung und Automatisierung urbaner Mobilität mitgestalten, um die Voraussetzungen für eine sichere, effiziente, und nachhaltige Mobilität auch in Zukunft bereitstellen zu können. Innerhalb von 30 Monaten erproben Partner aus Verwaltung, Forschung und Industrie gemeinsam Konzepte und Technologien des hochautomatisierten und vernetzten Fahrens in einem typischen urbanen Szenario. Das Projekt wird mit 9,8 Mio € durch das Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur BMVI im Rahmen der Förderrichtlinie „Ein zukunftsfähiges, nachhaltiges Mobilitätssystem durch automatisiertes Fahren und Vernetzung“ gefördert.

Wesentliche Ziele des Projektes

  • Realbetrieb einer Flotte von hochautomatisierten Elektro-Kleinbussen als wichtige Ergänzung des Berliner Mobilitätssystems
  • Die Verbesserung der Perzeption und Prädiktion einschließlich verbesserter Selbstlokalisierung als hochzuverlässige und hochverfügbare Basisfunktionen des autonomen Fahrens auch in kooperativen Prozessen und die kooperative Erstellung und den Austausch einer Local Dynamic Map (LDM)
  • Die Erprobung des automatisierten und vernetzten Fahrens (AVF) in kooperativer Infrastruktur (V2X) und einer V2X-basierten Verkehrssteuerung
  • Die Aktualisierung und Bereitstellung digitaler Karten und weiterer notwendiger Datengrundlagen und Services über geeignete Austauschprozesse (Austauschplattformen)
  • Untersuchungen zur Bürger*innen- und Nutzer*innenakzeptanz und gesellschaftlicher Teilhabe, die in Einführungsstrategien münden

Projektpartner

Für das Land Berlin beteiligen sich an dem Vorhaben neben der Senatsverwaltung für Umwelt, Verkehr und Klimaschutz (SenUVK), das Bezirksamt Reinickendorf. Partner im Vorhaben sind die Berliner Verkehrsbetriebe, Berlin Partner/eMO, die Freie Universität Berlin, die Technischen Universität Berlin mit Ihren An-Instituten DCAITI und ZTG und die Forschungseinrichtungen Fraunhofer FOKUS und das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft und Raumfahrt, die Unternehmen IAV und Hella Aglaia sowie als assoziierter Partner die Deutsche Telekom. Im Projektmanagement unterstützt scope – Strop Consulting und Projektmanagement.

Partner

Assoziierte Partner

Projektmanagement

Gefördert durch

Fahrzeuge

Im Rahmen von SHUTTLES&CO werden moderne Flotten- und Forschungsfahrzeuge eingesetzt, wobei autonome Fahrzeuge nach wie vor mit Sicherheitsfahrer/Begleitpersonen fahren:

  • Shuttle EZ10 der Fa. EasyMile, Generation 3
  • vollautomatisierte Forschungsfahrzeuge mit der „Lizenz“ zum autonomen Fahren mit LIDAR bzw. 3D-Visionsysteme an Bord
  • Testfahrzeuge mit marktüblichen Assistenzsystemen und serienreifer Kameratechnik
  • Flotte von Trägern für Smartphones mit entsprechenden KI-Anwendungen
Autonome Personen-Shuttle EZ10
Hochautomatisierte Fahrzeuge erobern die Straßen von Berlin © BVG

Konkrete Aufgabenstellungen und Lösungen

Von Anfang 2020 bis Juni 2022 werden die beteiligten Partner gemeinsam Technologien des hochautomatisierten und vernetzten Fahrens im digitalen Testfeld Stadtverkehr entwickeln und testen.

Fahrgastbetrieb

Im Berliner Bezirk Reinickendorf wird ab Ende 2020 bis zum Sommer 2022 eine Flotte von bis zu drei hochautomatisierten Kleinbussen im Fahrgastbetrieb der Berliner Verkehrsbetriebe (BVG) eingesetzt. Die bereits im Vorgängerprojekt See-Meile erprobte Linie vom U-Bahnhof Tegel bis zu den Tegeler Seeterrassen wird um eine zweite Linie im Wohngebiet in Alt-Tegel erweitert. Die Busse werden Herausforderungen wie Kopfsteinpflaster und enge Straßenzüge meistern müssen. Erstmalig sollen die Kleinbusse in der Fahrinfo-App der BVG sowie auf Anzeigern an einigen Haltestellen beauskunftet werden. Auf der Grundlage der anfallenden Betriebsdaten soll ein technisch sicherer, von Kund*innen akzeptierter, aber auch wirtschaftlicher und allgemein anwendbarer Mobilitätsservice abgeleitet werden.

Perzeption und Prädiktion

Die in Vorgängerprojekten erstellte hochgenaue Karte des Landes Berlin wird im Projekt als Referenzkarte eingesetzt und soll um dynamische georeferenzierte Informationen für eine sogenannte Local Dynamic Map (LDM) erweitert werden. In der LDM wird zudem das dynamische Verkehrsgeschehen und der Ist-Zustand der Umgebung abgebildet, dazu gehören neben Statusmeldungen auch Informationen zu Baustellen oder Gefährdungssituationen. Die Verknüpfung aller Informationen erlaubt die hochgenaue Perzeption der Umgebung (Lokalisierung, Freiraum- und Objekterkennung) und ermöglicht eine intelligente Verhaltensvorhersage (Prädiktion). Damit können komplexe, dynamische und oft unstrukturierte Verkehrsverhältnisse auch außerhalb der Sicht der eigenen Sensorik und außerhalb kartografierter Umgebungen für die Fahrzeuge beherrschbar gemacht werden.

Digitale Karten

Die bei der Perzeption der Umgebung erkannten Objekte können durch einen Vergleich mit den Kartendaten des Landes Berlin für eine regelmäßige Aktualisierung dieser Karten verwendet werden. Dabei sollen über geeignete Plattformen bereits vorhandene digitale Karten des Landes Berlin mit denen von Automobilherstellern oder Kartendienstanbietern ausgetauscht, aktualisiert und verbessert werden. Zudem wird untersucht, mit welchen Flotten eine Selbstaktualisierung als durchgängiger Prozess umsetzbar ist, wie gut digitale Prozesse unter Berücksichtigung der Verwaltungsstruktur automatisiert werden können und wie ein effizienter, dezentraler Kartenaustausch- und Aktualisierungsprozess per V2X, z. B. bei Ausfall der Internetverbindung des Fahrzeugs, realisierbar ist.

Verkehrssteuerung mit V2X-Infrastruktur

Automatisierte und vernetzte Fahrzeuge (AVF-Fahrzeuge) können mit anderen Fahrzeugen und der Infrastruktur kommunizieren (sog. V2X-Kommunikation). Mit diesen Daten können zum einen die Fahrzeuge die Schaltzustände der Ampel erkennen und darauf reagieren. Zudem können aus der Auswertung von V2X-Informationen der Fahrzeuge auch dynamische Verkehrsinformationen, z. B. Warnungen vor aktuellen Baustellen oder Zweite-Reihe-Parkenden, abgeleitet und genutzt werden. In SHUTTLES&CO sollen außerdem neue Ansätze einer verkehrsabhängigen Steuerung mit Priorisierung von Einsatzfahrzeugen oder Fahrzeugen des öffentlichen Verkehrs über V2X-Meldungen demonstriert und eine bedarfsgerechtere Schaltung der Ampeln aufgrund der V2X-Meldungen erprobt werden.

Akzeptanz und Vertrauen

Bei der Erprobung von hochautomatisierten Kleinbussen werden verschiedene Nutzer*innengruppen und deren spezifische Erwartungen an die Technologie betrachtet. Dabei wird neben Fragen der Usability auch die Akzeptanz von Nutzer*innen, Anwohner*innen und weiteren Interessengruppen bzgl. des Angebotes von hochautomatisierten Kleinbussen analysiert. Darüber hinaus will das Land Berlin dem Anspruch einer qualitativ hochwertigen Bürger*innen-beteiligung gerecht werden und nutzt dafür den Dialog mit den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern u. a. in Form einer Bürger*innenkonferenz, die Handlungsempfehlungen für diese zentrale politisch-technische Zukunftsfrage erarbeiten soll. Die breite Öffentlichkeit wird über Informations- und Austauschforen einbezogen. Vor dem Hintergrund des Einsatzes entsprechender Flotten in anderen Einsatzszenarien, widmen sich begleitende Projektwerkstätten der Frage nach der Optimierung des Mobilitätssystems im Land Berlin und dessen sinnvoller Skalierung auf weiteren Gebieten.