The Digital Urban Traffic Test Bed

Automated and connected driving (CAD) plays a major role in the traffic research of the state of Berlin. In addition to many studies on organizational and legal issues, the research activities focus on tests in real traffic, especially in the municipal digital test field “Urban Traffic” in the district of Reinickendorf. In addition to many studies on organizational and legal issues, the research activities focus on tests in real traffic, especially in the Digital Urban Traffic Test Bed in the district of Berlin-Reinickendorf.

Current Information

News from the test bed are regularly published here. An overview of all contributions and news about our projects can be found in the logbook. An overview of all contributions and news about our projects can be found in the logbook.

About the Test Bed

The Senate Department for the Environment, Transportation and Climate Protection (SenUVK) is responsible for the construction and further development of the test field, which is consistently focusing on the expansion and modernization of the existing infrastructure. By integrating it into its municipal processes, the State of Berlin is also ensuring that the infrastructure available at the test site will continue to be operated beyond the end of the current project, funded by the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI). This digital test bed is thus also open to third-parties beyond the end of the current project. The State of Berlin expressly invites you to intensively research, develop and test the future of automated and connected driving in urban traffic here.

Interested parties can contact the SenUVK:
hello@testfeld-berlin.de

Test Bed Projects

Logo Shuttles&Co

January 2020 – December 2021
In Shuttles&Co, we will address the self-updating of digital maps based on the perception of autonomous vehicles, the improvement of perception and prediction in automated and connected driving, as well as control and traffic information based on V2X communication. The highly automated minibus known as the “See-Meile” will run agin in Alt-Tegel. Additionally acceptance will be researched.
Continue reading…

Logo See-Meile

August 2019 – January 2020
The highly automated minibus known as the “See-Meile” ran from summer 2019 until January 2020 from the Alt-Tegel subway station in the direction of the Greenwichpromenate. Passengers could use the busses free of charge.
Continue reading…

Logo Safari

June 2017 – December 2019
The focus was the investigation of the self-updating of digital maps of the State of Berlin based on the perception of automated vehicles.
Continue reading…

The Umbrella Brand "Digital Urban Traffic Test Bed "

Berlin is a very important research location in the field of highly automated, autonomous and connected driving. The Senate Department for Environment, Traffic and Climate Protection is currently working on a large number of research projects in this area, projects that pursue the goal of developing, testing and validating innovative traffic and mobility solutions. These Projects pursue the goal of developing, testing and validating innovative traffic and mobility solutions. The knowledge and experience gained from these projects will contribute to a sustainable urban transportation.

The goal of the Senate Department for Environment, Transportation and Climate Protection (SenUVK) is therefore to bring together the large number of projects under one umbrella brand and thus strategically strengthen Berlin as a core location with regard to highly automated, autonomous and connected driving in the field of traffic management and traffic engineering.

Future projects in the field of automated, autonomous and connected driving can be managed under the umbrella brand “Digitales Testfeld Stadtverkehr” in coordination with SenUVK and use the corresponding logo.

The State of Berlin is bringing together central projects from the field of automated and connected driving to create an integrated application-oriented approach with supra-regional impact. In addition to the testing of highly automated fleet vehicles in the Berlin mobility system, topics such as user and social acceptance, exchange formats and transferability of the solution (scaling to other regional settings in Berlin, open source applications) are linked with the practice-oriented use of innovative technologies (perception and prediction, connectivity, traffic control, traffic information based on V2X communication). For this purpose, the test bed in Berlin-Reinickendorf will be enlarged and significantly upgraded.

Thus, essential results from previous projects will be incorporated and further developed. This applies in particular to the testing of self-updating maps with all traffic-relevant static, partially static and dynamic content and the digitization and simplification of the associated administrative processes.

Das Digitale Testfeld Stadtverkehr Berlin

Das automatisierte und vernetzte Fahren (AVF) nimmt in der Verkehrsforschung des Landes Berlin einen großen Stellenwert ein. Neben vielen Untersuchungen zu organisatorischen und rechtlichen Fragestellungen konzentrieren sich die Forschungsaktivitäten auf Erprobungen im Realverkehr insbesondere im kommunalen digitalen Testfeld Stadtverkehr in Reinickendorf.

Aktuelle Informationen

An dieser Stelle werden regelmäßig Neuigkeiten aus den Testfeldprojekten veröffentlicht. Eine Übersicht aller Beiträge und Nachrichten zu unseren Projekten finden Sie im Logbuch.

Über das Testfeld​

Der Aufbau des Testfeldes und die weitere Entwicklung wird durch die Senatsverwaltung für Umwelt, Verkehr und Klimaschutz verantwortet, die dabei konsequent auf den Ausbau und die Modernisierung vorhandener Infrastruktur setzt. Mit der Integration in ihre kommunalen Prozesse stellt das Land Berlin zudem sicher, dass die im Testfeld vorhandene Infrastruktur auch über die Projektlaufzeit der aktuellen Förderung durch das BMVI hinaus weiter betrieben wird. Damit steht dieses digitale Testfeld auch Dritten über das Ende des eigenen Projektes hinaus offen. Das Land Berlin lädt ausdrücklich dazu ein, hier die Zukunft des automatisierten und vernetzten Fahrens im Stadtverkehr intensiv zu erforschen, zu entwickeln und zu erproben.

Interessierte können sich hierzu an SenUVK wenden:
hello@testfeld-berlin.de

Projekte im Testfeld

Logo BMVI & Förderung durch den Bundestag
Logo Shuttles&Co

Januar 2020 – Juni 2022
In SHUTTLES&CO werden die Selbstaktualisierung digitaler Karten auf Basis der Perzeption autonomer Fahrzeuge, die Verbesserung der Perzeption und Prädiktion im automatisierten und vernetzten Fahren, sowie die Verkehrssteuerung und Verkehrsinformation auf Basis von V2X-Kommunikation untersucht. Auch der als „See-Meile“ bekannte hochautomatisierte Kleinbus wird wieder in Alt-Tegel unterwegs sein. Projektbegleitend wird eine intensive Akzeptanzforschung durchgeführt.
Weiterlesen…

Logo See-Meile

August 2019 – Januar 2020 
Der als „See-Meile“ bekannte hochautomatisierte Kleinbus fuhr von Sommer 2019 bis zum Januar 2020 ab dem U-Bahnhof Alt-Tegel in Richtung Greenwichpromenade. Fahrgäste konnten den Kleinbus auf einer Route mit 4 Haltestellen kostenlos nutzen.
Weiterlesen…

Logo Safari

Juni 2017 – Dezember 2019
Schwerpunkt war die Untersuchung der Selbstaktualisierung der digitalen Karten des Landes Berlin auf Basis der Perzeption automatisierter Fahrzeuge.
Weiterlesen…

Dachmarke Digitales Testfeld

Berlin ist ein sehr wichtiger Forschungsstandort im Bereich des hochautomatisierten, autonomen und vernetzten Fahrens. Die Senatsverwaltung für Umwelt, Verkehr und Klimaschutz arbeitet zurzeit an einer Vielzahl von Forschungsprojekten in diesem Bereich. Diese Vorhaben verfolgen das Ziel, innovative Verkehrs-und Mobilitätslösungen zu entwickeln, zu erproben und zu validieren. Die Erkenntnisse und Erfahrungen aus diesen Projekten tragen zu einem zukunftsfähigen, urbanen Verkehr bei.

Ziel der Senatsverwaltung für Umwelt, Verkehr und Klimaschutz ist es daher, unter einer Dachmarke die Vielzahl der Projekte zusammenzufassen und somit den Standort Berlin strategisch in den Kernthemen des hochautomatisierten, autonomen und vernetzten Fahrens im Bereich des Verkehrsmanagements und der Verkehrstechnik weiter zu stärken.

Zukünftige Projekte des hochautomatisierten, autonomen und vernetzten Fahrens können in Abstimmung mit der Senatsverwaltung für Umwelt, Verkehr und Klimaschutz im Rahmen des vorliegenden Konzeptes unter der Dachmarke „Digitales Testfeld Stadtverkehr“ geführt und das entsprechende Logo verwendet werden.

Das Land Berlin bündelt zentrale Vorhaben im Bereich automatisiertes und vernetztes Fahren (AVF) zu einem integrierten anwendungsnahen Ansatz mit überregionaler Ausstrahlung. Neben der Erprobung hochautomatisierter Flottenfahrzeuge im Berliner Mobilitätssystem werden vor allem die Themen Akzeptanz (Nutzerakzeptanz und gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz), Übertragbarkeit der Lösung (Skalierung auf andere Gebietskulissen in Berlin, Austauschformate und Open-Source-Anwendungen) mit der praxisorientierten Nutzung innovativer Technologien verknüpft (Perzeption und Prädiktion, Vernetzung und Verkehrssteuerung und Verkehrsinformation auf Basis von V2X-Kommunikation). Das Testfeld Stadtverkehr in Berlin Reinickendorf wird hierfür vergrößert und signifikant aufgewertet.

Damit werden auch wesentliche Ergebnisse bisheriger Projekte aufgegriffen und weitergeführt. Dies gilt auch für die Erprobung der Selbstaktualisierung der Karten mit allen verkehrsrelevanten Inhalten und der Digitalisierung und Vereinfachung der damit verbundenen Prozesse.